Summer and Early Fall Highlights

Continuing my recap of 2022, I want to share some highlights from June through September. I look back on these memories fondly because they really provided me with rejuvenation between periods of the 9-6 grind. These experiences fueled me, and helped me remember that there’s life beyond work and ongoing existential crises. We all need a little something to look forward to.

1. Weekend in Long Beach Island, NJ

Over Juneteenth weekend, Lily and her mom graciously hosted Gerri and me for a few days at their rental home. They rent a house there for a week every year, so they’re well versed about the island and all the fun things to do and eat.

I don’t gravitate toward beach vacations, but do love spending time at the beach all the same. I was grateful for the time away and getting to enjoy a beach town. It felt especially timely since the Amazon Video adaptation of The Summer I Turned Pretty was coming out. I was also thinking about Sarah Dessen’s books, particularly Along for the Ride. If only we could all have coming-of-age main character moments with attractive family friends or beach town locals.

On the summer solstice, we got up early to see the sunrise (pictured below). It was difficult to get up, but so worth it for all the colors! We also saw the sunset later that day—probably the only time I’ve intentionally seen both in the same day. I thought we were going to miss it since we had a later dinner. It all worked out though!

2. Blueberry picking at Terhune Orchards

Terhune Orchards is a popular family-owned orchard located in Princeton, NJ with farm animals, pick-your-own orchards, a winery, and fresh farm products. They have great fresh-pressed cider and cider donuts. For their pick-your-own produce, their orchards are open from April through October and have strawberry, blueberry, apple, pumpkin, and more depending on the season.

In July, we went for blueberry picking. I’d never gone before and it’s quite time intensive to look through all the bushes for the bluest and plumpest ones. We also went on a particularly hot day, so it was a little brutal, but still meditative. I had a really good time and would love to go again, especially since the blueberries were really delicious.

3. Gryffin: Alive Tour

I attended my first rave when I saw Gryffin live in August 2022; it was held at the Brooklyn Mirage. It was something Claudia suggested and I liked Gryffin’s discography enough to give it a try. Raves had always felt overwhelming to me, but I think the artist(s) have a lot to do with the kind of crowd a show will attract.

For Gryffin, I actually had a lot of fun and there were so many songs that were incredible to experience live, including After You. That’s one of my favorite feelings—to be able to experience music live with other people singing at the top of their lungs. I can’t wait for him to release more music and go on tour again.

4. U.S. Open

Going to live sporting events had been on my list for a while. When Kelly suggested getting tickets for the U.S. Open, I couldn’t have predicted how much I would love watching tennis and get addicted to following the tournament. We got a grounds pass and Arthur Ashe daytime tickets for Round 1 and then Kelly and I also got a grounds pass for Round 3. Going to the U.S. Open felt like Disney for tennis. There were so many different matches to see and food to try. One of the best matches we saw was Frances Tiafoe verses Diego Schwartzman in Round 3. It was incredible see part of Tiafoe’s run at the U.S. Open, particularly because it was a home Grand Slam. Some other notable people I saw play included Iga Swiatek, Andy Murray, Leylah Fernandez, Coco Gauff, and more.

5. Weekend in Orlando

Taking a long weekend off to go to Orlando was a much needed break after my second-half of summer grind. It was my first time going back to Orlando in over 10 years and I was really excited to experience it as an adult. It was also the first trip Claudia and I took together! We traveled pretty well together and I was grateful to share the experience with someone who holds a lot of enthusiasm for Disney and amusement parks. We originally were only going to do the Universal Studios parks and booked with a Universal hotel, but later expanded our trip to include a half day at Epcot and a day at Magic Kingdom so we could also celebrate Not So Scary Halloween. We then did both Universal parks in one day.

Doing anything Harry Potter these days is quite the ethical dilemma due to J.K. Rowling’s rampant transphobia. However, the kid in me has wanted to visit the Harry Potter parts of the park since they were created. Don’t really have good justification for going, other than I really wanted to experience it once. The roller coasters there are some of the best at the Universal parks—so creative and thrilling.

It was so fun returning to Disney World, especially as an adult that gets to get whatever they want. I had a lot of fun revisiting some old favorite rides, and even tried out some new ones at Epcot—including the Ratatouille themed one and Guardians of the Galaxy (the most thrilling ride at a Disney park, hands down). I’m a bit sad I didn’t think to go to Hollywood Studios for the new Star Wars area (already counting down the days until a future trip).

6. Cuyahoga Valley National Park

I made my first annual trip to Cleveland since the pandemic to see Mandy. Every time I go, I like to revisit some tried and true favorites, but also seek to do new things. We made time for Cuyahoga Valley National Park. I didn’t even know there was a national park in Ohio until I was looking for something new to do. The park happens to be about thirty minutes outside Cleveland and there are many trails to hike. We did a short trek to see Brandywine Falls and then a longer round-trip trek to Blue Hen Falls. It was such a picturesque fall day with many falling yellow leaves. We then got Sichuan food afterward in Akron at a restaurant called Sushi Asia Gourmet. Nothing beats the feeling of eating a great meal after a workout.

And that’s a wrap on some of my short trips and memorable experiences in Q2 and Q3 of 2022.

Leave a comment